Students Brilliant in National Math Competition

Other outstanding student results were:

Nathan Havord was top 3% Year 8, Western Australia.

Billy Marshall, top 8% Year 7, Western Australia

Regan Beer, top12% Year 9, Western Australia

Cameron Pettley-Gray, top 18% Year 9, Western Australia

Uluka Luscombe, top 10% Year 10, Western Australia

Certificates of Distinction were awarded to each of these students. 

Thirteen students earned certificates of Credit, putting their performance in the top 55% (Junior or Intermediate Divisions) or top 60% (Senior Division) of their year group, Western Australia. The students are:

Year 7

Samantha Galang

Toby Ryan

Jocelyn Meade

Brooke Hanlon

Year 8

Dylan Hawkins

Kaius Pearson

Owen Smith

Year 9

Sharmaine Boyd

Flynn Catterall

Tyler Buchanan

Telikah Collins

Stephanie Francis

Year 11

Lauren Holmes

Congratulations students.

A further twenty five students were awarded a Proficiency certificate for achieving a pre-set score. Altogether fifty five students participated in this year’s competition. Every competitor was provided with an individual performance report.

The 2018 Australian Mathematics Competition (AMC) was the 40th annual competition. Hundreds of thousands of students in primary and secondary schools from around 30 countries sat the AMC on August 9.

Students from Year 3 to Year 12 compete on the same day, making it the largest single event on the Australian education calendar. An Australian initiative, the AMC was introduced in 1978 as the first competition of its kind in schools here. It is now a truly international competition, having become the major school mathematics enrichment event and benchmark for mathematical ability throughout the Pacific and South-East Asia.

The AMC tests everything from basic numeracy skills through to advanced problem solving. This is the eighth year that a Proficiency certificate has been awarded for students reaching a pre-set standard in both skills and problem solving, using their skills in the world around them.

The competition is conducted by the not-for-profit Canberra based Australian Mathematics Trust under the trusteeship of the University of Canberra.

Congratulations to all our award recipients.

Well done, to all students who participated in the competition.

© 2018 North Albany Senior High School